Tri-County Railroad Authority

MembersTri-County Railroad Authority

  • Winston Brooks, Vice Chairman
  • Lee Yoder, Tullahoma Member

Each City and County is allowed two representatives: Coffee County, Warren County, White County, Doyle, Manchester, McMinnville, Morrison, Sparta, and Tullahoma, for a total of 18 members.


The Tri-County Railroad Authority was created by an act of the Tennessee legislature in 1981 to purchase the Sparta Branch line from the Seaboard System Railroad, Inc. The purchase included approximately 60 miles of land, track, and roadbed running through Coffee, Warren, and White Counties.

This authority is intended to secure economic benefits to the three counties and to the cities of Manchester, Doyle, McMinnville, Morrison, Tullahoma, and Sparta by providing railroad service in Coffee, Warren, and White counties. The Tri-County Railroad Authority is authorized to acquire, construct, operate, maintain, and dispose of railroad facilities, properties, and equipment and may provide other rail services within the region of the authority.